2017 Martin Luther King Jr. Community Service Awards

Thursday, January 19, 2017 at 4:00 pm
Goizueta Business School Auditorium
Emory University, 1300 Clifton Road NE, Atlanta GA 30322

To the Metropolitan Atlanta Community:

For over 20 years, the Rollins School of Public Health and the Goizueta Business School have honored the legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. through the Martin Luther King, Jr. Community Service Awards Program. This celebration grew out of a 1993 conversation between Dr. Joyce Essien and then Dean of the School of Public Health, Ray Greenburg, where they agreed that it was time to align the mission and values of Public Health with the precepts of social justice. With support from James Curran, Dean of the Rollins School of Public Health and Erika James, Dean of the Goizueta Business School, as well as with the diligent work of faculty, staff, and students, this program has grown to be a major event on the calendar of King Week activities held at Emory. Our program is the only event that has consistently recognized and celebrated people and organizations in greater Atlanta whose work exemplifies the legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

We are currently accepting nominations for the 2017 Awards. Award Criteria may be viewed online and nominations must be received by November 30, 2016.

Click here to submit your online Nomination online.


Corey M. Dortch, Ph.D.
Co-Chair, 2017 Committee
Silke Von Esenwein, Ph.D.
Co-Chair, 2017 Committee

Please contact the Awards Coordinator, Melinda Morrow at Melinda.Morrow@emory.edu with questions.

View photos from the 2016 event


Previous MLK Community Service Awards Programs | Previous Honorees