The CFAR Administrative Team

The Emory CFAR Administrative Team provides infrastructure support for the daily operation of the CFAR.

Call 404/727-2924, email or contact any of the individuals below with questions about the Emory CFAR.

James Curran, MD, MPH

CFAR PI and Co-Director for Administration and HIV Policy

Dr. Curran is Professor of Epidemiology and Dean of the Rollins School of Public Health at Emory University. Dr. Curran began his career with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention where he directed the HIV/AIDS Program from its inception until he retired in 1996. He is a member of the Institute of Medicine (IOM) of the National Academy of Sciences and has recently become chair of the Board on Population Health and Public Health Practice of the IOM. Dr. Curran has 25 years of experience with HIV/AIDS Research and policy and currently serves on the Office of AIDS Research Council, and has chaired or co-chaired two recent IOM Committees on International HIV policies and programs. Dr. Curran has served on the National CFAR Executive Committee since 1998 and was Chair in 2003.

Carlos del Rio, MD

Co-Director for Clinical Science and International Research

Dr. del Rio is Professor of Medicine in the Division of Infectious Diseases at Emory University School of Medicine and Vice Chair for Grady Affairs in the Department of Medicine. Dr. del Rio is a native of Mexico where he served as Executive Director of the National AIDS Council of Mexico (CONASIDA, the Federal agency of the Mexican Government responsible for AIDS Policy), from 1992 through 1996. He is a Member of the Scientific Advisory Committee of the Latin-American AIDS Initiative (SIDALAC), Member of the Board of Directors of the International AIDS Society-USA, and Member of the Monitoring of the AIDS Pandemic (MAP) Network. Dr. del Rio has been a member of the CDC/HRSA Advisory Committee on HIV and STD Prevention and Treatment (2000 2003) and a member of the Institute of Medicine Committee on the Ryan White Care Act: Data for Resource Allocation, Planning and Evaluation (Jan 2002 October 2003).

Eric Hunter, PhD

Co-Director for Basic Science and Translational Research

Dr. Hunter is Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, and Georgia Research Alliance Eminent Scholar. Dr. Hunter has been engaged in HIV research for 24 years and his laboratory has been recognized internationally for its work in defining the molecular events involved in retroviral assembly (R01 CA 27834) and for elucidating the structure/function relationships for HIV gene products at a molecular level (R01 AI 33319). Recently, his laboratory has investigated the molecular mechanisms underlying HIV transmission among stable heterosexual couples living in Rwanda and Zambia (R01 AI 51231) with an aim toward developing novel vaccine approaches that might prevent this transmission event. In addition studies of recent infections in these couples are aimed at understanding the mechanisms by which HIV responds to the problem of moving from one immunogenetic environment into another during the process of transmission (R01 AI 64060, GCGH-1197). Dr. Hunter is Editor in Chief of AIDS Research and Human Retroviruses and serves on the NIAID AIDS Vaccine Research Working Group as well as the National Cancer Institute Board of Scientific Advisors.

Kimberly Hagen, EdD

Assistant Director for Programs

Dr. Hagen is a Senior Faculty Associate in the Department of Behavioral Science and Health Education, Rollins School of Public Health. She has worked as a health educator in the field of HIV/AIDS community and medical education since 1986 and has been working with Emory HIV/AIDS researchers, clinicians, administrators, and students since 1988, first at the School of Medicine and then University-wide. She was recruited to the Emory CFAR as its first Administrator in 1998. Dr. Hagen has served on the State of Georgia Ryan White Title 1 Program Outside Review Committee since 1996. As Assistant Director for Programs, Dr. Hagen serves as the primary liaison between the Emory CFAR and HIV/AIDS investigators at Emory and collaborating organizations. She is also responsible for supervising CFAR program activities and approving requests for programmatic expenses.

Allison Leppke, MPH

Project Coordinator

Ms. Leppke has worked as a project coordinator, program evaluator and curriculum designer at the Rollins School of Public Health since 2003 and joined the Emory CFAR in 2006. She earned her spurs by coordinating the 2005 CIFAL Conference at Emory University, cosponsored by the Emory CFAR, the United Nations training agency (UNITAR) and UNAIDS. This week long conference brought together international AIDS collaborators from across North, Central, and South America. As Project Coordinator, Ms. Leppke will manage the day-to-day administrative function of the CFAR.

Michelle Webb

Grant Manager

Michelle Webb has been working as a grant specialist for over five years and for the Emory CFAR for two years. She knows the NIH and Emory post-award system inside out and is marvelous at managing budgets. As Grant Manager, Ms. Webb works with the Emory CFAR to manage the overall grant budget and serves as primary liaison with the financial managers for each of the CFAR Science Cores.

Onix Ramirez

CFAR Intern

Onix Ramirez is a native of Honduras and an Emory College graduate. She is serving an internship with the Emory CFAR before pursuing an MD/MPH. Ms. Ramirez can best be described as the energizer bunny personified. As CFAR Intern, Ms. Ramirez provides project support to the Emory CFAR office of Leadership for Interdisciplinary Networking and Communication (CFAR LINC) including the CFAR AIDS Soiree, the Emory CFAR website, and the CFAR Connection newsletter.

Emory University: Find Events | Find People | Find Jobs | Find Sites | Find Help | Index
Copyright © Emory University 2006 - All Rights Reserved
201 Dowman Drive, Atlanta, Georgia, 30322, USA (404) 727-6123